Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Kanku Dai

Kanku Dai is the kata I’m working on at the moment. The most recent bit of instruction from my sensei is leading to a change in this section - which is resulting in a much lower stance here, leaning back (and at the moment, fighting for stability, and trying to prevent my calf from cramping...).

Usually one sees here a standard kokutsu dachi (back stance) - which is higher and straighter; see here for an example. Kancho has told me to swivel around, rather than stand up, from the drop to the ground which immediately precedes it; that results in this low and backwards-leaning stance - which is hella hard on the right backside, and on my balance.

My remote control didn't work, which was annoying, so I had to use the timer, and run to where I had pre-focused, and get into stance at the right time.

Lowr; Flickr.

Takumar Bayonet 135/2.5 @ f4
Pentax K-30

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.