Old dogs

Don't always need to learn new tricks, some old dogs invented the tricks....

A shot of these youngsters journey beginning in oh so many ways. 08:30 setting out at the start of Bronze Duke of Edinburgh Award training.
Now I've been around a bit, and I work with kids 'like these' a fair bit, so à picture like this doesn't bother me. I'll have caught them up by the time the camera has shut down....
Pah. For the first time in the history of Bronze DofE these youngsters made their way around Askham Common at 6-7 kilometers an hour. Roughly 6-7 times faster than the usual DofE'ers....I (& the other instructors) had to get a proper wiggle on.
Obviously I decided the best training would therefore be for them to learn to navigate increasingly complex shapes that started and finished at the conveniently flat rock I found to sit on. Otherwise I think the "that's ambitious" plan we started the day with might have been completed by lunch. Superstars, better than some 'direct to gold' participants I've worked with.

Just shy of 20km, 30,000 steps and a lot of laughter. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.