Marathon joy

I don't know these women - but their expressions sum up the best bit of going to watch the marathon - the support and joy, in amongst the massive physical effort (on the part of the runners, I mean; watching's not quite so taxing, although my hands did tingle for a long time after, thanks to all the clapping).

Tim and I watched the main start on Blackheath, and Tim managed to spot my friend-of-a-friend Jacqui, who was running.  We headed down to Greenwich after that and he spotted her again!  She came over for a quick not-too-sweaty hug, and a couple of photos, then was off on her way again.  

We stayed watching and cheering for a while after that, then walked back up the hill to home.  Tim went for a haircut in Blackheath and I killed time in a few shops, then we walked back home together and had some lunch.  I then spent a large portion of the afternoon cooking a big batch of lunches for work, and then cooked our dinner, too.  

Many, many photos to edit this evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.