Tools of the trade

belonging to my Dad.They're a bit rusty as they've never been used since he did.He was a Baker and Confectioner.
he used to get up at a ridiculous hour to stoke the coke ovens up before his shift.
In his spare time? he made and iced Wedding cakes for family and friends.

I used to watch how he piped the lattice work on the cones before sticking them on the corners of the cakes.
He made his own Royal icing and marzipan .I don't think ready made stuff was available in those days.

He used greaseproof paper for the piping bags.I could never make those or ice cakes for that matter.
He loved gardening as well so I take after him there.

On this day 119 years ago my Dad was born.He died in 1967.
He was a very Humble man and I still miss him ❤❤❤

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.