The Duchess of Sutherland

It's been a busy day today!  This morning I went to the first of my sessions at the Cardio Rehab Gym at Shrewsbury Hospital which I will have to attend twice a week for 6 weeks.

They're a cheery bunch in my group with lots of joking. As I was the newbie I was accompanied around the machines by the cardio physio and shown what to do and how to fill in the record form. I had to wear a heart monitor and watch so that they were sure that everything was well.  

A lady recognised me from playing in the ceilidh band and then one of the men said that he plays in a folk duo with his wife so we knew people in common.

I got home and F phoned to say that the Duchess of Sutherland steam train was travelling through the area and stopping at Wrexham station for 20 minutes.

I wanted to go the Wrexham to buy a new fridge freezer as mine is playing up. We went to the electrical shop where I found one that I liked and ordered it.

We then went to  the station where there were lots of men of a certain age on the platform waiting to see the train.  F was looking forward to inspecting the gubbins while it was stationary.

We saw the Duchess arriving but it whizzed through the station at speed and stopped way in the distance where we couldn't get to see it. There were a lot of disappointed people on that platform!

If I'd known that it wouldn't be stopping where we could see it, I would have found a more scenic spot to photograph it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.