id:FOR

By FOR

Well done ARROCHAR

It was really beautiful day full of exciting hiking inside the Arrochar Alps.

I have started my journey from Arrochar village near Braeside Store at 10:45. But Cobbler' s classic walk was not on my list for today.

First I would like to mentioned and dedicated main picture of the day to all of those local (or maybe not only local) volunteers who were trying to tidy up all that plastic mess during the low-tide. They deserve (not only) my full respect.

When I took one picture of them I turned into the "Glen Loin Loop" route around the massif of Beinn Narnain/A' Chrois ridge. It was cloudy most of the time but I can' t complain. No rain and almost no wind made my walk much more efficient. Should say ideal forecast for the hike.

It was great fun to ascend the first munro Ben Vane (915m. I reached the summit at 1:30pm and took 30 minutes break for my snack and couple of pictures. The peak was not so busy on Sunday. There were another dozen of hikers at the same moment. Quite difference if I compared Vane' s summit to highly popular peak of Cobbler. Reason is simple, Cobbler is easily accessed in these days while hiking on Ben Vane is about much steeper slopes (a bit craggy ones) and one spot where scrambling skills are so useful.

So I have started to descend northwest slopes of Ben Vane past 2 o'clock.The truth is that this section is literally pathless but it is easy to find your way downside to glen where you have a few options to accessing the highest munro of the Arrochar Alps. yes I' m talking about Beinn Ime (1011m). Fortunatelly the northeastern slopes were not so wet and I was able to reach the summit a few minutes before 4pm. Most of the people are reaching this summit via route to Cobbler (it' s much much easier to be honest. There were just two couples of local lads at the same time like me. Must say Beinn Ime was offering some fine dramatic views in the afternoon (see extras). I took just 15 minutes break for one muesli bar and couple of Brazil nuts while having last cup of my hot tea. Then it was time to heading back downside to Arrochar Village. It took like 35 minutes to join the main path from Cobbler to Arrochar. The only one thing make me worrying about walkers/tourists/casuals habits. Some of them are not carrying extra bag for the rubbish. So I was collecting some of those stuff while heading down to Arrochar. Next time I must take some decent bag probably.

Finally I reached Arrochar Village right in time to board the bus service 926 from Cambeltown to Glasgow past 6pm.

Really great day inside the Southern Highlands and two munros already done. Looking forward for more days like that during the spring/summer/autumn season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.