Shutterup

By Shutterup

Anyone know what this is?

I am intrigued to know what this buzzer is.  I spotted it when it hovered still right in front of me then landed on this leaf where it sat for a portrait photos session.  I only had my iphone and they are not the best for tight focus.  I initially thought it was a bumble bee... hairy body but then realised it had black markings on its wings and a shiny looking bump on its bac.. that orange colour is different to anything l can find on the internet so if anyone out there is an entomologist l could do with your help.  IT was about half and inch long
My uneducated guess is a pellucid hoverfly but they appear to be smooth and with a black shiny patch between the wings... a pretty fellow

Update.. it has been positively identified as a male hoverfly - Leucozona lucorum 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.