Autumn strawberry leaves

I had a poke around my garden today checking for damage from Monday's southerly storm.

One Chatham Island Forget Me Not has had it's new growth snapped and crushed by a flying pot. It was struggling and that's probably the end of that one. The miniature cabbage tree is on a lean and will need remedial staking.

In most weather conditions the back of my place is sheltered but it looks like there was plenty os swirling wind to twist and tear. Most things will be ok.

I'd shifted my old boots with strawberry plants in them to a shady location so they wouldn't dry out while I was away. In the space of a week they've taken on autumn colours as they die back

Today featured a lot of washing, entertaining 2 friends for lunch, and trying to understand Jasper.

Overnight he loved me to death and for one so small he has a lot to say for himself. He's gone off his pricey vet biscuits and has told me repeatedly that he's hungry.

It turns out that if I lie on the floor, talk softly, pat him, and hand feed him the biscuits one at a time, they're fine.

I don't think so Jasper....

I wandered to a local fig tree and went to box fit this evening. Not surprisingly I my legs felt a little leaden. For the record I dislike boxing as a sport but I like the challenge of box fit. No one gets hurt because there's no boxing each other.

Best of all today I had my windows cleaned inside and out. After landscaping and summer winds I can see out of them again.

I found myself researching another bike trip and came up with a real doozey, The Challenger Series. Bob and I might need to get a bit serious but what country to photograph I'd end up in. It's something to think about....

Today's gratitude: For a quiet day where I didn't have to be anywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.