From the Internet:
The Cloch Lighthouse was designed by Thomas Smith and his son-in-law Robert Stevenson. The building was completed in 1797. There appear to be two generations of keepers' houses, the older now used as stores and the more recent having crow-stepped gables. The short circular-section tower has a corbelled walkway and triangular windows. The foghorns were added between 1895 and 1897. 

We passed the lighthouse today on our way along the River Clyde from Largs to Greenock.  It is a lovely drive along the river and through the various villages.  When cruise liners are in the Clyde it is a fine sight to see them go down the river after berthing at Greenock.

I have added an extra because it is rare in this day and age to see a motor cyclist and sidecar.  My dad was a motor cyclist in the 'thirties, and my mum rode pillion and after they married and had their first child, my sister, they purchased a sidecar.  However, my mum hated it (I should imagine it is a very bumpy ride) so they gave it up, eventually purchasing their first car.

A fine day and dry all day although a bit hazy and no sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.