This'n'That

By Nanzy19

My wish...

...for Christmas would be that all cultures could live in peace and harmony. If only we could use our intelligence to celebrate differences, solve problems and work together instead of waging war, what a much better world this would be. One can only hope!
The totem was given to my Mum in 1963 and was carved by Haisla artist Sammy Robinson from Kitamaat. My Mum passed away in 1981. The figure on the left belonged to my sister-in-law Beatrice, who passed away from lung cancer in 1999. It's an Inuit carving of a seal hunter but the carver is not identified. The figure on the right was given to us by neighbours who visited New Zealand and was carved by Penikera Hona from Rotorua. The husband passed away early this year. These hold special memories for us and I treasure them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.