Evening walk

I got out of work at 5:30 and it was SUNNY! Should I go home and try to mow the front yard? Of course not! We went for a walk ,I with my camera and husband with binoculars. Not many birds. As we left the house wrens were having a song battle   to see who could sing better and attract the girls.I love the fact they don't sing at the same time but alternate.Incredibly loud for such tiny birds.
Coming back down the hill we saw this bird in the trees back from the road. I could not get a good look at the tail which I think would have cinched what it was but as things stand I can't decide whether it's  a broad wing or a cooper's hawk. I think broadwing because I don't think the tail is long enough for the cooper's and it was just a little bulkier than our local cooper's.Either way - up that road is usually  the redtail's territory ,so I am surprised to see somebody else hunting there.
If anybody has any ideas please feel free to comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.