CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A visiting Speckled Wood butterfly

I looked up from my computer, where I'm trying to make progress with my photo printing projects, and saw this butterfly on the patio door frame. I quickly went to find my macro lens and a big camera and grabbed a few handheld shots in the wind before it flew away.

In fact it only flew about eight inches but took up a different position, so I grabbed a few more frames. Then it moved again, and so did I.

Thus is the last picture I took as it began to lightly rain. I\m not sure how long the butterfly will stay, as i think it was only there to try to get warm enough to fly and feed. It does have two antennae, but the angle of the image has hidden the other one.

I quickly found out that its name is a 'Speckled Wood'. Our garden backs on to exactly the type of habitat it is generally found in according to this website:
Speckled Wood – Pararge aegeria
Occurs in woodland, gardens and hedgerows. Butterflies often perch in sunny spots, spiralling into the air to chase each other.

The aptly named Speckled Wood flies in partially shaded woodland with dappled sunlight. The male usually perches in a small pool of sunlight, from where it rises rapidly to intercept any intruder. Both sexes feed on honeydew in the tree tops and are rarely seen feeding on flowers, except early and late in the year when aphid activity is low.

The range of this butterfly contracted during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, but has spread back since the 1920s. It has continued to spread over the past two decades, recolonizing many areas in eastern and northern England and Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.