Boughed and broken

.... not misspelled!

Once suitably booted and spurred - again - the dogs and I set off for our usual walk but when we arrived at the section which had been closed off for months, due to the timber operations, I noticed a sign announcing that the road was open for the duration of the festive period. I didn't need any more encouragement as I have been longing to venture into the area to see exactly what has been happening.

In the past I have bemoaned the fact that the view on the moor, where I normally walk, will shortly be lost once the young trees planted a few years ago have grown into their teenage years. Now walking along the elevated path which used to be flanked by dense pine forest and which overlooks the moor, I was heartened to see that the view will still be accessible for a long time yet! Cara, Bruce and I had to pick our way carefully along the path where felled timber lay stacked in piles alongside heaps of broken and discarded boughs and the path itself was narrowed into a hazardous composite of mud, jaggy sticks and pine needles. I didn't venture into the whole area so I am still unsure of the full extent of the operation but we had a really fun and adventurous walk and arrived back to the car in a very muddy state.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.