Apollinaris Church, Remagen, Germany

Took a day trip with the objective of exploring Drachenfels Castle and the Drachenburg ruins.  They're close to each other across the Rhine from the A61, and also close to Bonn.  I did not intend to drive to Remagen, but the road I wrote down on the sheet of paper had no access road from the A61, so drove further and thought Remagen might be a good spot to try, and I already knew of the church, so it was not a wasted trip.  Passed by the church and took a few shots, then drove along the Rhine towards Bonn but there was no bridge to be found anywhere along that strip.  I ended up shooting both structures from across the Rhine (two extras).  Decided to avoid rush hour traffic in Bonn and instead headed back towards the A61 via the A565 close to Meckenheim.  I was back in time to see AW getting ready for his bridge evening and he was glad he could use my car.

On the way to Germany, had to make a toilet stop close to Venlo and discovered, and was charmed by the fact, that McD sells cheesecake.  Of course I had to buy one.  That is the first time I have bought anything from McD these past 28 years or so.  I am no fan of their hamburgers or any other burgers, but the cheesecake ... yea, I'm fine with that.  I now have an extra excuse to drive down that way.  The other excuse?  I still want to see Drachenfels Castle and Drachenburg, but also Poppelsdorf Palace in Bonn itself.  There is a bridge closer to Bonn and that is what I need to take next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.