lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

I thought I was going to ride my bike today and maybe do a little walk at the park with Salem. However, about 5 minutes from home, I was forced to ride my bike up onto the sidewalk to avoid being hit by a car. Fortunately I was going slow when an unleashed dog popped out of a hidden side-trail, shortly followed by its owners. I almost crashed into to the dog and the only reason I'm not writing this with a broken bone or something worse is that I was going slow enough to stop. The back wheel came off the ground, almost vertical,  and I almost lost the whole shebang. UGH. I turned around and headed home.... so mad.

I don't think I will be riding my bike around Seattle anymore. It's just too dangerous. Even riding on the paved paths is no safer since people here just do not pay attention, and others don't believe the dog-leash laws apply to them.

I was thinking about exploring a new park so that's what I did instead of risk life and limb on Seattle's streets. It's out east, past Redmond, on the Snoqualmie River. There is a wonderful cable bridge over the river (extra), that moves enough to make you feel queasy. The second extra shows what the foot bridge looks like from upstream. I hiked about 6 miles around the beautiful trails there and felt much better.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.