Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

On the Bench

I’m back-Blipping this the morning after the night of the leaving ‘do’ that our trustees held for Sarah and me. Thanks to them and to Nici for organising everything, and thanks to everyone who attended. I’m writing this having just opened all the cards and gifts that I received last night - which made me sob my eyes out! Thanks to everyone for their thoughtfulness and love. I know many of them will read this.

The night involved chat, food, ukulele-based entertainment from The Strumbrellas and plenty of dancing! I certainly put my new hip through its paces - cutting a rug to disco classics from the likes of Gloria Gaynor, Diana Ross and Sylvester; pogoing to Siouxsie and the Banshees; trying my hand at some interpretive dance to Kate Bush, and completely failing to remember anything that ‘Strictly Come Dancing’ has taught me about the basics of the jive or lindy-hop as I did a massive disservice to ‘The Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy’ by the Andrews Sisters https://youtube.com/watch?v=8of3uhG1tCI

My ears are still ringing!

I was generally too busy talking or dancing to take many pictures but this vignette of Anna, Sarah and Sarah, apparently waiting for Godot in an abandoned warehouse, makes me grin.

I’ve met, and become friends with, some amazing people through ‘the job that is no more’, and I’m lucky that they’re going to remain in my life as it enters its next chapter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.