Heart and Souled

By DebsP

My ginger joy

I used to call next door's cat this. He was a tom and half. As their family grew and grew to four little sets of hands to natter him he spent more time in quiet repose round our place. I loved him dearly. He called round on the day we moved out swishing his tail and the last thing I saw as we drove away was him huddled under a hedge as the snow came down. One day a couple of months back I felt I had to know if he was still alive but didn't know how to ask. He did pass away in the summer, the news came in a Christmas card today.
This candle is for him.
I had thought we'd have a dog and a cat, our dog even came with the description 'good with cats'. I think that actually means good at wanting to chase them when they run. I'm not ruling out seeing if it'd work one day as there's nothing like the feel of a cat rising to a gentle hand.
PS I had to give up in the end at trying to get a better shot of the flame. Note to self, learn how to use manual focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.