Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Red and Yellow

Not such a nice day here today, I even had to wear a cardigan!

We decided to head off to Kayaköy village, a local village inhabited by Greek Orthodox Christians until 1923 when as part of the settlement after World War 1 there was a "people exchange" between Greece and Turkey. The village has been empty since then. We didn't venture into the main village as the weather was rather off putting but I think it's a visit for another day. Louis de Bernieres wrote a book loosely based on what happened here called 'Birds Without Wings'.

On our way down into the town to get a bus there, we passed a man trimming a rose. When we said good morning he gave the rose to C to give to me! The other images are some of the local poppies which are a glorious shade of crimson and a flower which is a member of the fennel family I imagine.

This afternoon we went down into Fethiye and had a wander round the local shops and cafes. The prices there are much less geared to tourists, we had tea and a cake each for less than £2. I went into a local supermarket and picked up a local delicacy which is a pomegranate sauce /syrup which I have been enjoying with olive oil and bread, I've never tasted it before, so I thought I'd take a small bottle home..... very well wrapped up.

The forecast for tomorrow is much better so we are hoping to head to a beach.
Steps today 19556 in spite of the weather, so 4/4 nicely on target.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.