Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Three Ness Islands Walk

As my train isn't until 12:55, I have the morning to kill in Inverness. Fortunately, there is a nice short walk near my hotel, the Three Ness Islands Walk, that takes in three larger islands in the River Ness. I took loads of photos, so I will have to upload them to Flickr. It was difficult to choose the one to blip. Although cool, in the sunshine it felt very warm.

As I used my watch GP,S you can see the route at Relive here. I should have started it sooner.

It is a short walk,so I had plant of time to get morning coffee, then wander around some of the charity shops,as well as pick up some lunch for the train journey home. I am not tempting fate by hoping there is a snack trolley on the train, and the journey is over three hours.

I take my last walk back to the hotel, and snap my last photo of the River Ness and distant hills. (Extra 1).

I was correct about there not being a snack trolley on the train. It is an old 125 train, and the entrance to the carriage is too high for the ramp used for the trolleys (I wonder what they do about wheelchairs?) Luckily I'd bought a large bottle of water, as there is no real air conditioning either.. The views are good though. Extra 2 shows the view looking south as we descend from Dalwhinnie towards Blair Atholl.

Very warm in Edinburgh, but I need a cup of coffee, so the first thing I do when I get home, and dump the luggage is get a cup of coffee (and I still have some easter egg left,so that goes down a treat). A great time in Inverness. I will be back next year. but it's great to be home,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.