The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Friday 2nd May 2019)

After a month of consecutive blips I decided to take a day off before I became a daily blipper and exceeded my self-imposed 265 annual total.

After my garden (which had been mostly lawn) was completely dug over at the time of house renovations in the early nineties I discovered what grew naturally there: bindweed, ground elder, poppies, cranesbill, herb robert and aquilegia. I created a new garden but it turned into a wilderness after a neighbour installed some hideous wind chimes in their garden, making mine a no-go area that I abandoned.

Its post wind chime restoration and evolution, following the wilderness years, has been undertaken with the help of Refna of Hotdiggity Gardens. We're still battling with the bindweed but the wildflowers have been allowed to blend with the mainly woodland plants that have been added in the ground. The aquilegias are definitely welcomed and pop up all over the garden. I think these are natural so I am including them in the Wild Flower Challenge as well as Flower Friday, although some in other colours have sprung up in other parts of the garden including a Dragonfly hybrid that I bought at Bowood in 1995.

These in the blip are growing in the front yard by the fence next to the front gate.

With thanks to Miranda1008 and Bikerbear for the challenges.

R.I.P. Ellie Gould, the 16-year old school girl who was stabbed to death at her home in Springfield Drive, just a couple of hundred yards from here, on this afternoon. A 17-year old from the Calne area has been charged.

L.
6.5.2019 (1245 hr)

Blip #2914 (#2664 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2019 #91/265 + #044/100 Extras
Day #3325 (671 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2058 (#1899 + 159 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Aquilegia series
Front Yard series
Flora series
Macro series

The Woodland Garden (May 2019) (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Angelica - Why Did You Let My Kitten Die? (1999)
Angelica were a Lancaster based all-girl group active until about 2003. Holly Ross, who wrote this, is now a member of the Lovely Eggs and all the others are still in various musical projects. This song references Hayley Mills in the 1961 film Whistle Down The Wind.
This reminded me of the current band the Orielles, from Halifax, whose song Let Your Dogtooth Grow (an LOTD in 2017) was based on the film Dogtooth.

One year ago:
Lacock Abbey NT

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.