OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Wheatear

After the two-minute snow shower this morning I headed off to RSPB Cottasgarth to try for cuckoos again. No luck. Loads of people there with two organised groups and other visitors so over 25 people, but not all at once. One group was led by That There Iolo Williams. A couple of local guides too who are good guys but, come on, they're no Iolos! His group had been there for quite a while hoping for hen harriers and eventually a pair appeared to their joy. Nice views of male wheatear and male stonechat too. I walked back to the road and up on to the top and along a peat road up the moor where I took a couple of shots before heading back down to the village for the bus. Just before the village a male hen harrier drifted across the road. When I got to the village a cuckoo started calling and I managed a long-range, shaky picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.