AGBPhotography

By AGBPhotography

New Kids On The Block

With around 1200 (yes twelve hundred :o ) photos from the weekend still to view and edit I thought I should take it easy today so I decided on a gentle walk down to the duckponds. I still took over 100 photos lol.
My blip today is a Duckpond Spring Watch continuation. When I arrived at the ponds all was quiet, Mrs Swan was sat on the nest (no sign of hatching yet) Mr Swan was resting nearby.
Mummy Duck was huddled up with her brood, Daddy was on the water.
Then this female duck (not sure what breed it is) appeared along with 6 new baby ducklings, they look about 4 or 5 days old. Apparently she had nine yesterday three presumably taken by the gulls, and whilst we were watching one of the black back gulls swooped down to grab one of the babies. Mum quacked out loudly and surprised us by 'leaping' about 2 feet out of the water at the gull, none of us watching had seen a duck do this before but it saved her babies and when I left about half an hour later new mum and babies had disappeared onto the island for the night. Lets hope they stay safe.
I've still not had a chance to edit the weekends photos so todays 100+ will join the queue and hopefully I'll get some uploaded to my blog soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.