Making Purple Dumplings

Today was my first encounter with purple dumplings.  I have been to dumpling events before and they are always fun, with several people sharing the fun of making the dough, rolling it out and tucking the fillings into cute little pouches.  There is always laughter and gossip in the making and eating.

When I arrived, the dough was ready in three colors; purple, green and white.  I've not seen green dumplings before either, but I was less surprised.  For each batch, either green or purple dough was wrapped in the white, then sliced and rolled again to make small circles ready for the filling.

The dumplings were fried to make the bottoms crisp and then boiled for ten minutes.  They were served with a dip made of garlic, chives, coriander and preserved lemons, For extra spice, there was a jar of black beans in chilli oil.

I look forward to more adventures with unexpected food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.