Ramadan Kareem

Today is the first day of Ramadan in Kuwait. The lantern is called a fanous and is one of the typical images of this season.

Ramadan is very strictly observed here with no eating or drinking in public allowed until after Iftar (breakfast) which is at 630pm. It’s difficult! I missed my coffee.. and am now wide awake at 2am as I had one at 630pm. But I’m not the one who is fasting... I could do 15 hours without food, but no water.. very difficult, despite all the AC. It’s now about 40C every day too. Work hours change to accommodate the fasting with the working day reduced to six hours. I’m now in class from 2-4pm, then a 4.5 hour break when we all stay at work to save on excess taxi fares. Then I teach 830-10.30pm. A long day. Those who are fasting sometimes sleep before Suhour (lunch) at 2am before they start fasting at 3.30am. A very different rhythm here, and no music now as people contemplate.

It’s not quite the openly festive spirit I experienced in Cairo, but as one of my Egyptian friends said.. the spirit is in the air and people are praying more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.