Out west

Woke with a crick in my neck that got progressively worse throughout the day...probably because I was holding myself stiffly to guard against the pain and also because I spent most of the afternoon in a meeting at one end of a long table and had to turn sideways to take part. All in all I ended up with neck and back pain, a lot of drugs and great difficulty working on the stuff I needed to after the meeting finished. 
I was over in Glasgow, and so once I'd forced myself through the presentation I had to comment on I decided to walk over to VG&M's flat to try and loosen myself up. I wandered through the west end admiring some stunning houses or, in this case, a whole crescent of beautiful sandstone houses around an immaculate communal garden. Found myself wondering if it's a happy community toiling away to create and preserve their lovely shared space or if it's mired in petty jealousies and complaints about who isn't pulling their weight or messing up the perfect symmetry!
All very leafy and quiet though - hadn't been around this area before and it was lovely. Arrived at VG&M's. Lovely to see them both and we chatted about work, kids, sick/dying cats, slavery, pedagogy, summer plans and more work as I managed to finish some shortlisting I had hanging over me.
The wine and chat seemed to help my neck pain thank goodness....let's hope it's gone by the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.