Betty's 100

Last night Breeda rang to ask if I wanted to cancel lunch in Ilkley today as the weather would be bad. I of course said No I was looking forward to seeing her. I also love going to Ilkley it always makes me think of my mum who used to go on retreats at the Briery with her friends - I think it was really a good weekend away and a rummage in the charity shops. Especially wanted to go this week as its her 13th anniversary on Friday. 
I also love the drive, just outside Ilkley is a wood that looks to have a carpet of purple /blue due to the bluebells. I first spotted it 16 years ago as I drove to Leeds to work and couldn't believe the sight, never seen the likes. 
It was cold and wet but we had a lovely lunch and then an amble past the shops. We loved the window of Betty's which is celebrating 100 years. I have had  a mug and an afternoon tea tin sent over to the USA for a 100th birthday present. Am sure June will love it. 
Went to our usual place for coffee and cake before the drive home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.