La vida de Annie

By Annie

Private jet...

...well, nearly. First flight of the season from Menorca to Leeds with Jet2, and only 3 passengers counting me - this is the view from my seat, which I thought was creepy and reminiscent of the hotel corridor in The Shining. No axe-wielding maniacs though, just very attentive (and bored) flight attendants. On the plus side, a free upgrade to extra-legroom front row seats, the negative being charged 16 euros for 1 kg of excess baggage (I got the allowance wrong), which in retrospect seems ridiculous as mine was the only suitcase in the hold. I wore my  arm sling, which I don't need all the time now, but there was no way I could manage a 23kg suitcase and hand luggage. It worked well as the very kind and friendly Leeds ground staff helped me all the way unasked - that's Yorkshire folk for you. #2 daughter met me at the airport and as planned we went straight on a nostalgia trip to my old haunts prior to going to Uni in Liverpool (and never returning to live). I think she was genuinely interested to hear my tales of a different world decades ago, to see the village where I grew up and the bank I worked in for a year (still there, amazingly). My old junior school has been demolished to make way for a health centre, my old house has been massively extended (it was a very small semi), but the church in which I got married is still there and looks exactly the same - no re-purposing as flats or a carpet warehouse as has happened to many in Liverpool.
We also visited Temple Newsam, where I often went with my parents and dog when I was a child. It has not changed a bit, unlike the surrounding area and in fact most of Leeds. See extra for #2D posing in one of the archways used for wedding photos. It was raining a bit so we went in the tearoom where I realised one of my ambitions - eating a toasted teacake (not seen where I live so greatly craved. Unfortunately, although delicious, it was the size of a dinner plate. This made it a challenge to later eat the generous portion of fish and chips to die for from her local chippy (another craving). Chatted and watched A Star is Born (on my recommendation) until very late. Exhausting but happy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.