Bitternly disappointed.

Well not really. It was no surprise.
Bitterns are booming at RSPB Leighton Reserve. So this morning I went to the Hide which is near to the Bittern’s hideout in the faint hope of getting a glimpse. Others were there too with those enormous lenses. But it didn’t do them any good. Although I have seen Bitterns a few times in the past twenty years it is a rare event.
You need to stay in the hide for a few hours. I am not that kind of devoted birdwatcher. After about forty minutes with nothing happening my mind starts to wander to cake and hot chocolate.

However, there was a little compensation for my efforts. This pair of Greylag geese near to the hide felt sorry for me and one of them decided to show what splendid feathers it has.

Together with a good Marsh Harrier sighting and listening to the Water Rail it was a good morning. And the cake was good.

The extra shows another goose shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.