Zian Chavez

I met Zian (formerly Diane) Chavez in 2015 because I was photographing a direct action organized by Don’t Shoot Portland, and she was being arrested alongside Teressa Raiford. She is an arts therapist for people with disabilities, and she was diagnosed with MS nearly 20 years ago. She has made peace with the pain, considers it one of her companions in life, and has developed her own way of dealing with it. She says for her, an important route to peace of mind is trusting that she is enough. That what she can do, each day, is enough. That she can trust herself to be open-hearted, to have wise boundaries, and to do everything she possibly can to express the love that she is. “I do what I can do, and then I rest. I say to myself that what I can do is enough, and that my body will tell me when I have reached my limit, and I'll listen.” Because of cuts being made to services for people with disabilities, and cuts to art therapy in particular, she is struggling financially right now. But you wouldn’t know it to look at her shining smile.

I see her in passing at protests and rallies, but today we actually sat down together and talked about where we are in our lives.  We love that we're sporting the same haircut. As you can see, she is radiant. You can feel her truth, her courage, her bright heart. 

I am deeply grateful for young women like Zian, and like Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (AOC). Sue and I watched the documentary about AOC last night. If you’d like to see the trailer and get some of that bright feeling, it’s here: Knock Down the House. 

P.S. (for the sake of record-keeping) I led the 23rd monthly Walking Meditation circumambulating the ICE Building today, on behalf of Buddhist Peace Fellowship of Portland. Sue usually leads it, but she had babysitting duty today. Gorgeous weather for walking. (Extra.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.