Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Big, big day

a private concert
then we took the car again
appointment at 2

For old times' sake, Jean-Pierre and I went for coffee before we came back home and he gave us a recital of French songs he'll play as interludes between sketches in the next play he'll be in.

We then drove to Paris where I had an appointment with my neurosurgeon. He found my state had quite deteriorated - which the MRI images I brought him explained: the cysts in my spine have grown quite dramatically in the past six months. He told me it was no use waiting any more and he's going to operate "before summer". Most likely he'll put a tap in/on my spine that will drain the excess fluid that ends up becoming cysts. He's going to talk about my case with his colleagues to discuss the best way to approach this and he'll get back to me in about two weeks with a plan.

My feelings are really mixed. I'm happy that something is going to be done at last - he did tell me that if he did nothing I would end up in a wheelchair, sooner rather than later - but this is not minor surgery... and although I knew I'd have to have an operation someday, the announcement that it would be so soon took me by surprise and I've found myself crying a few times since. I know it's for the best, but emotionally it's rather a blow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.