Here we go again!

By MI

Nohant

I spent two days at Nohant with my graduate student and my daughter, visiting the country home of George Sand, an author I love and whom my student is working on. The home itself is beautiful. It was left to the state by Sand's grand-daughter in 1961 with all of the original furniture. It is remarkable to be in such an authentically restored home. Seeing Sand's grave in the garden (see extras), under a beautiful tree, and as well as the two trees that she planted when her children Maurice and Solange were born (visible in yesterday's blip), was very moving. This photo is of one of the paths in the garden, very green and lush as we had quite a bit of rain. You imagine Sand and her guests (who included Delacroix, Chopin, Alexandre Dumas fils, Pauline Viardot, Balzac, Flaubert and others) walking in the gardens, rehearsing their lines for the plays they performed in the theatre she had built. Other extras are Sand's "blue room" and dining room, with Murano glass chandelier as a reminder of Venice.

It was tricky to get to and I think I'd rent a car next time, rather than try to use public transit, but we made it, and we made it back! It was a pleasure to travel with L and Ch, who were very patient and calm through it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.