Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

A Better Wales

Today was a first, I attended my first ever political march, a march for Welsh Independence through Cardiff City Centre.

It's not something I would have thought of doing before, but with all this Brexit nonsense going on I fear my country may suffer.  I have seen a number of interviews where people have been talking about the B word and saying that it will England great again, totally forgetting that we're the United Kingdom.  Just yesterday on Twitter I saw a tweet from someone who was responding to a Nicola Sturgeon speech in Scotland, with the response being that without English money, the other countries in the UK would never survive.

I know a certain type of nationalism can be dangerous, but I want Wales to be outward looking, inspiring our people to be the best that we can be.  Independence isn't going to be easy but we have great people in Wales, great universities, if we believe in ourselves anything is possible.  

With a couple of thousand on the march today, this is just the beginning.  An inspiring speech from Adam Price the leader of Plaid Cymru was just the right tone.  Wales is a sleeping nation, prepared to accept what numerous Labour and Conservative governments in Westminster and Cardiff have told us that we're not good enough.  It's time to stand up and do something special, make a better Wales.

Today was just a start, I feel like things are changing.

Good to march with my friends Rachel and Helen.

I love all my English friends, it's Westminster that doesn't work for Wales.

In other news I've purchased Proms tickets for the summer, so I'm looking forward to those concerts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.