Ironman Mallorca 70.3 Team relay

So a day planned as a joke a year ago now became a reality. I was competing in IronMan Mallorca 70.3 (the biggest 70.3 in the world) as part of a team relay with my old club Tewkesbury triathlon club.

Dead calm and hot conditions like last year meant great for swimming but not running. The relay swimmers set off behind everyone else. My blip shows some of the first relay team heading off with lots, thousands of slow swimmers in the way.

My team mate came back safely in a good time and handed over to the cyclist. I could keep a track of his progress on the app - or so I thought. His tracker stopped working with 12 km to go which meant I had no idea where he was and my warm up was very stressful.

When he did come in several other team were already well on their runs so I thought I was battling for a podium at most. I ran 1:18:46. I was happy with this as it was hot and I lost time weaving through people and grabbing water bottles to pour over me at every opportunity. 

When I finished we were 2nd so I overtook 2 team without knowing. It then turned out the team that beat us started off in the first few waves rather than at the back so I lodged a complaint and got them disqualified and we won.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.