Day to day today

By Jewels4663

Ossery

My friend Jo is down for the weekend, so we went across to Hythe. I don't know it well but friends have been raving about. I have also been meaning to visit the Ossery at St Leonard's Church, and finally managed to get there today.

The Ossery is full of skulls and bones dating from the 12th to 15th centuries, which were dug up to build additional parts of the church. Some are damaged and at first it was thought they were wounds, but were then discovered to be damage caused by the excavations. There are also two African skulls there, and they can tell that by the lines on the palate of the mouth. It was all really fascinating.

Hythe was well worth the visit, some nice little shops and cafes, and we had a walk along the Military Canal and the seafront. Came home and I made tuna for dinner, then cheesecake while we watched the Barbra Streisand / Kris Kristoffersen version of A Star Is Born, which is one of my favourite ever films. I still play the soundtrack often!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.