A glorious day.

A roasting day in Hampton today. As it's Chestnut Sunday we went into Bushy Park, where I used to work in the Woodland Garden, and watched the parade of classic cars and other vehicles driving slowly down the magnificent Chestnut Avenue, at its very best right now. To someone used to the climate of the west of Scotland it was  touch too hot today in the sun, though the temperature was said to be only 17. 

There were thousands out to enjoy the weather, the cars and the funfair and I imagine that a good day was had by all. I walked back through the Woodland Gardens where I worked for several years in the early 1970s, many memories being brought back! I love the park which I've known since childhood, 1,100 acres surrounded by south-west London suburbia. Not very far away is Richmond Park, another 2360 acres! SW London is very well served by public parks, largely thanks to former kings who set the land aside for hunting! My Blip today shows the Diana Fountain, standing in the middle of a large circular pond. The fountain, together with the fountains in the grounds of the nearby Hampton Court Palace, are worked by natural water pressure from the River Longford out by Heathrow Airport.

My extras show both a wonderful old Dennis fire engine and a scene from the Waterhouse Plantation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.