Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Leeds Half Marathon

SUNDAY

Today I ran my first ever half marathon.

I was up in good time and travelled over on the train from Huddersfield.

Well over nine thousand people entered the race and, as I put down an estimated time of 2h:14m on my entry, I was relegated to the last (yellow) wave which started behind the greens, reds and blues. So for the first couple of miles I had to weave my way through the stragglers.

The run, which was sponsored by ASDA, was extremely well organised with lots of water and "energy" stations together with stations with fresh orange segments and dozens of folk handing out jelly babies along the route.

I finished on a chip time of 2 hours 0 minutes and 14 seconds.

It was a bit annoying not to get a sub-two hour time. Maybe if I had not gone back a couple of metres for an orange segment, had not (unsuccessfully) dodged the guys with hose pipes and had not sung along to radio 2?

Thank you for all the hearts and stars on my train blip yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.