CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Gloucester's terracotta soldiers

A rather lazy day for me, but I did drive to Gloucester for a few necessary culinary items. The weather was fine when I set off, but clouds rolled in to darken the sky.

My second port of call was to the Yip Shing, an asian food supplier, where I was going to stock up on hot Thai chillies, coconut milk and fresh tofu. This emporium is owned by several Chinese brothers, who now employ a range of staff of many nationalities, who are all very friendly. I asked permission to take some pictures, which was granted; I have blipped from there several times before.

Their main business is supplying to the restaurant trade in this area of Gloucestershire, as well as allowing individuals like me to come and grab small amounts of their wonderful goods. Recently I noticed they'd installed two terracotta warriors or soldiers, on either side of the entrance. I often noticed when I travelled in south-east asia that land and property would be guarded by statues, whilst shrines to the gods would be tended lovingly both indoors and out.

Inside here they have a shrine to a warlike god for whom they light incense sticks every day. It is in the main shop next to the entrance to their office. The terracotta warriors, or more likely some distant cousins, stand on the entrance ramp down to the centre of the warehouse and are life size. They are made of plastic however, but the image is the thing. They seem to be doing some good as business there is thriving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.