Mothers Day

It was a bit of a dilemma to discover that my 2500th blip coincided with Mothers' Day, but I think this beautiful arrangement of posies from Dana's garden fills the bill nicely for both occasions.  She and Jim arrived at the door to pick us up for lunch, and she presented me with this lovely vase of flowers, including my favorites, peonies. I barely had time to admire it before we were off to a lovely backyard gathering of mothers, children and even a couple of grandmothers. We all sat in the sun and enjoyed a wonderful spread of ham, scalloped potatoes, asparagus, blueberry scones, cream puffs, lemon ice, cookies and, of course, sparkling rosé. The weather was beautiful and I can't think of a nicer way to spend Mothers' Day. It may be a 'Hallmark holiday,'  but I'll take it.

As for Blipfoto...the friends I have made, the people I follow and who follow me, the stories from around the world, all combine to make this such a special place. It was an extra bonus today to see a post from briocarioca who had to take a break from Blipfoto while she and her husband moved from Brazil back to England. I remember following my good friend Lady Findhorn's journal, but resisting her efforts to get me to join. She finally convinced me to do it when we were visiting in Edinburgh. She is irresistibly  persuasive in person. I am grateful for all of this, and for those who work so hard to keep it all going. It has most definitely become an important part of my life and certainly gives me motivation to keep going too....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.