Bread cast upon the waters

Justin L’Amie is a young artist of Native American descent. I met him years ago at  the Pearl Bakery, where I rarely come anymore. His work is charming and reveals an appealing sense of humor and a strong connection with nature. I have been to some of his shows at local galleries and admire his commitment to his artistic gifts.

A few years ago I was weeding out my stash of watercolor papers and drawing papers I didn’t think I’d be likely to use. I invited Justin over to choose the ones he’d like, and he went home loaded with paper.

Today Justin handed me a big stack of bakery take-out bags as a thank-you for the art paper I’d given him. There were 31 bags, each with an original drawing by this talented artist. I was overwhelmed. They are so delightful. My absolute favorite is the duck-billed platypus because I saw one at the Bronx Zoo more than 70 years ago.

Justin is represented by the PDX Contemporary Art gallery in Portland, Oregon. Click here to see more of his wonderful work.

And for more information on the fascinating duck-billed platypus, an egg-laying mammal native to Australia and Tasmania, click here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.