Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

A day out with John Bell

Isn't this window fabulous?

I spent a lot ... of energy persuading parishioners to come to a lecture by John Bell this evening and I thought that there wouldn't be time to attend a day retreat on imagination led by Rev John Bell of the Iona Community.
I had a rush of blood just before school drop off, cancelled all commitments and drove the 1.5 hours to the Autumnal beauty of Mount Macedon where John was speaking.
I did the return trip arriving back in Geelong in time to collect Miss C from school band practice and reach the station in time to catch the train with my lovely band of parishioners. There were 8 of us.

We allowed 2 hours to travel to Fitzroy in Melbourne, so all told, I traveled 7 hours to hear this chap speak.
I had sold the only public event on the chance for the parishioners to have a wee sing, but it turned out to be a lot more serious than I had expected. It was good stuff, but not as billed by me.

The Aussies had a hard time understanding his very toned down Scottish accent, I don't see why they find accents so very tricky. I get the same complaints for my Aberdonian twang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.