Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Alternative Christmas Tree

When I (Annie) used to live in a one bedroom flat in Oxford, I didn't have room for a Christmas tree as well as the existing furniture. So I was resourceful, and decorated stuff I already had. The "tree" was a decorated version of my wrought iron candlestick. Not any old candlestick; this is a 6 foot tall, 8-candle candlestick that looks like a tree. It was what I spent my first proper salary on and was very difficult to get back in the taxi (I'd wanted to spend it on something I'd remember). With the addition of some artifical fir branches it looks pretty stylish. Nowadays we have room for a tree but the dining room enjoys being festived up as well.

A busy day tidying, picking up the turkey and wrapping presents. Chris popped out for some emergency grocery shopping and had to tour three local shops to find what we needed. The girls were here and had a more relaxing day although Chris and Immy did have a 5 mile run this morning. See here for Rosie's take on the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.