Corncrake

Today's the day ……………………….. for celebrity status

A fascinating day spent today on Tory Island, off the coast of Donegal.

The 'Queen of Aran'  left from the small harbour at Magheraroarty and the journey took less than an hour.  The island is about three miles long and half a mile wide - and has a resident population of about 150 people.  It has a primary school catering for around 25 children - and even a secondary school, albeit for around half a dozen.  There's a nice-looking medical centre/hospital, a couple of hotels and a shop - and a variety of houses ranging from the very large modern to the tiniest ancient uninhabited cottage.  It has a long and interesting history and you could spend a whole week there and still have things to discover.

Will went off to do a bit of watercolour painting - and I just wandered from end to end as the fancy took me.  There was so much to see - flowers, birds, buildings and all manner of quirky things everywhere around.  The one thing I was determined to photograph was a corncrake.  Although they are quite rare elsewhere, on Tory they are relatively common - their very characteristic croaking calls to be heard frequently.  I persevered and eventually I got the above.

It was discovered on the boat home that I had a picture of a corncrake - and suddenly, I became very popular.  Everyone wanted to see it- and just for a while, I became a bit of a celebrity …………………!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.