A day in the life

By Shelling

Time flies

I've spent nearly all day today calling people who's applied for two of my schools summer courses. I'm only administrating them, not running them but I'm as usual involved as "the singing together part" of the finishing grill evening which is usually quite fun and appreciated.

This evening the so called "Open stage" took place in the café. I've written about it earlier here, in short it's an event run by the schools students where they perform music, poetry or whatever they want, suited for a stage, sometimes not. A much liked event, perfect for trying out a new song in front of a friendly audience of fellow students and teachers. This evening it was extra emotional because it was the last one before everyone splits up when school finish in a couple of weeks.

Both these events also marks the end of my career as an employed teacher at a school so I must say I also felt quite emotional. I've worked for this school fifteen years now and forty five years all in all as a music teacher in various employments. Now, it's time for me to retire.

Time has flown and I keep thinking about what all that time has been used for. When I hear the music and see the happy faces of my students when they proudly perform, I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.