A PHEASANT DAY OUT

We had a lovely outing to Fountains Abbey today - my first visit but definitely not the last. What a lovely place! I took lots of postcard-type shots of the Abbey, but prefer to blip some wildlife, since I'm sure most postcards or guidebook illustrations would be better than my photos.There were so many pheasant(s) wandering about the grounds that I couldn't resist their handsomeness. And the extras show a small brown trout (I think) in the peaty river and also a crayfish on the river bed. I was pleased that the camera picked up those two because we were up on a bridge and the water was so brown and ripply that I wasn't sure what I was seeing, or whether the crayfish was actually a stone, until I got the photos onto the computer. I suspect it's one of the invasive Signal Crayfish, rather than the rare indigenous White-Clawed Crayfish, but I wouldn't know how to tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.