JR4 in the Frame

By joprose

Granny's Front Door - inside

The old victorian terrace in Balham is to be sold - the Johnson family home from circa 1916 until Aunt Ella died on New Year's Day 2009.

I went to clean it up and take some pictures of a place I knew so well - with the dull London February light streaming into the hallway. As soon as I opened that door, the smell of the place brought back the memories. It seemed so ungrateful to be talking to the Estate Agents about the sale.

The three old photos cover the 1920's - my Mother left and Aunt right
- the '30's - Uncle Harold centre: Mother right this time.
And finally Aunt as a land girl during the 1939-45 War.

Mem'ry hold the door?

Rather, I think, it's the old photos from the collection Aunt Ella left!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.