Suzuki VL800C4

Still on the quest for a lighter bike, the CTX1300 being 350kg I find it hard to manouvre it around manually i.e. pushing it rather than riding it.
This Suzuki fits the bill in some respects and I had a test ride today. Must say that I think the CTX has spoilt me in so many ways. 
What I did like about this Suzuki is the look of it, looks fabulous in White and Silver, the sound of it, that gentle throbbing V-Twin is superb, the back rest on the riders seat made it more comfortable than it would normally be.
What I didn't like was the steering at low speed (I zig-zagged around some parking spaces in a supermarket car park) it felt very heavy on the front end and made it a bit difficult.
Didn't like the vibration, it wasn't bad at around 60-70 in 5th gear but getting there wasn't nice. The platform 'pegs', where you put your feet, I didn't like, much easier to use the gears and rear brake with normal pegs.
Didn't like the speedometer and other information on the tank, you;ve got to look down to see what your speed is.
I really appreciated the service though, Thunderroad brought the bike to Gloucester from Bridgend so I could have a test ride. Unfortunately I had to say no, just too many things against it I'm afraid.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.