Locals

I heard and read a lot about Georgian hospitality culture before coming here. I have come across two examples in 12 hours. 

Last night I caught the midnight local bus from Tbilisi Airport to the city centre. I have a prepayment Metromoney card which just has to be swiped on the bus. Alternatively, you can pay the 0.50 lari fare with coins which you put into a machine. The driver just drives. Fares are not his business.

A backpacker couple got on at the same time, and clearly had no idea how to pay. A local explained about the coin machine. They had no coins. The local paid their fares off his Metromoney card. 

This morning I went to buy breakfast at the local bakery I have used for the past 3 mornings, taking just a 5 lari note with me - the exact price for what I buy. When I handed it over, it was politely pointed out that it was an Azerbaijani 5 manat note - left in my wallet after my trip to Baku. Total embarrassment, but the woman just waved me away with my purchase and asked me to bring in the money later.  

Anyway, today has been a much, much more sedate day. Apart from being tired after yesterday, the temperature was up to 27⁰c in the afternoon.  

The Blip is a wee glimpse inside Metekhis aghmarti/Metekhi Church, built between 1278 and 1289 by King Demetri Tavdadebuli. Photography is not allowed inside. 

In Extras, That Bridge Again, looking good in the late evening light. The other is a choir of some kind, singing outside the church. No, they were not busking.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.