Munch, munch, munch...

Then she said "Come down to the Wetland Centre for seed." But I fly all the way here from Richmond and of course those pond-dwelling birds have snatched the lot. I ask you, I'm exhausted now, and I've got nothing to show for it. Nothing! I've had it with the foul fowl. Nonsense ducks. I thought they ate weed anyway, not seed. We're the seed-eaters. I can't believe there's nothing left. Are you listening to me?


I've had a fantastic London afternoon. After working through the morning, I gave myself the afternoon off (well, I did work evenings this week) and headed down the Wetland Centre in Barnes to find myself a vole. The voles remained elusive so I contented myself with tufted ducks, mallards, shovellers, teals, long-tailed tits, blue tits, great tits, coal tits, coots, moorhens, green woodpeckers, gadwall (I think), and a squirrel. As I was about to leave, I turned round and saw five ring-necked parakeets on the bird-feeders. I've never seen the parakeets down so low down so it was a bit of a surprise. With my camera battery about to die, I snapped a few shots, shook my head and had some tea and cake in the cafe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.