Skyroad

By Skyroad

Vapour Trail, Moon, Wires

Shot on the way back from Wexford, where I was visiting my wife's family. I had stopped the car (slightly precariously) on the crest of that high hill where you can catch a glimpse of the sea and the Wicklow skyline with the Sugarloaf, before plunging downhill into that landscape. I photographed THIS as best I could, then turned towards the sea and saw the tableau above. Going back and forth on the N11 between Dublin and Gorey always makes me think of mum (but then many things do); something to do with being in a familiar groove where the mind runs ahead of itself, and being used to having to call and check in with her when I reached my destination; that sense of elasticised connection, wires stretching from where she sat at home to... wherever I was. This will be the first Christmas without her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.