River, rowing, and rain

My brother and I went to visit fellow Blipper Heidi this morning and then went on to Henley (again) to meet up with my (sort of) cousin John. We had lunch together in the River & Rowing Museum down on the Mill Meadows - my Blip today is the sculpture of Steve Redgrave and Matthew Pinsent, former Olympic rowers. It's a handy place to meet as there's parking right outside. We blethered about family for a couple of hours and then drove back to Hampton via Marlow. 

Between Henley and Marlow we toured the sunken lanes between thick hedges, tall trees and green meadows. I love the old Oxfordshire flint and brick walls, the ancient timber barns and the beautiful commons. It's a well-heeled area, to be sure, but the local residents look after the villages, fields and hills and it's a lovely part of rural England. At one point the heavens opened and before very long the lanes were flooded, water racing down the slopes and filling the roadsides. Quite dramatic for a short time, then we emerged into a dry landscape. I haven't seen rain this heavy for ages!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.